The Elizabeth Anabo BRICC Awards

Building Resourceful Inspirational Creative Community

This fall, Silicon Valley Community Foundation will recognize creative, resourceful and inspirational neighborhood groups in Santa Clara County with the Elizabeth Anabo BRICC Awards. Since 2001, The Elizabeth Anabo BRICC Awards commemorate the late Elizabeth Anabo, former senior program officer at Community Foundation Silicon Valley, one of our parent foundations. Elizabeth was extremely dedicated to and passionate about neighborhood groups and made tremendous contributions to them over the four years she worked at the community foundation. 

BRICC awards of $1,000 are given to one or two neighborhood groups in Santa Clara County that have made outstanding contributions to their community. The two categories for the award are seasoned groups and new/emerging groups. Previous BRICC Award recipients may apply two years after receiving the award. Neighborhood groups may nominate themselves. A review panel composed of community representatives will select this year’s BRICC award honorees. The awards will be presented as part of the 2014 Neighborhood Development Conference on October 11 at San Jose State University.    


The review panel will use the following criteria to select award recipients. Group efforts will be recognized rather than individual efforts.  Nominees should demonstrate the ability to:

  • Mobilize broad citizen participation
  • Address significant issues in their community
  • Make creative use of available resources
  • Provide opportunities for neighbors to take greater control of and responsibility for what goes on in their neighborhood
  • Inspire neighbors and others to take action

Nomination Process:

To nominate your neighborhood association, please complete the Nomination Form. Nominations must be received by 5 p.m. on Friday, August 29, 2014 at the address listed below (please email only one form per group). Send nomination form as a Word document attachment. Within two weeks of the nomination deadline, eligible nominees will be contacted by the review committee.

Please email forms to: